A Man For The Lord

I never saw a man give himself wholeheartedly to whatever he was doing for the Lord as the late Jessy Dixon did. I thank Bill and Gloria Gaither and their Homecoming Friends for many things. They have been a great blessing to me and to my family as well. The songs they sing have enriched our spiritual lives in a way I can hardly express. But above all I thank the Gaithers for introducing me to Jessy Dixon. When it came to performing for the Lord, there never was a man to compare with him. The power and artistry that he demonstrated – the deep acuity of motion – coupled with the purity and intensity of spirit with which he sang, could raise from the grave any spiritually dead person!

My late mother did not understand one word of English. And yet one of her favorite songs was “Master, The Tempest Is Raging”. Whenever she woke up in the morning, she would ask me to put on that song for her and she would sit there quietly as it ministered to her heart.

The song, as sang here (below), is my tribute both to Jessy Dixon and to my mother. They had a kindred spirit.

The finale and the reprise to this song are extremely powerful (I would give all to know just what George Younce was saying to Jessy there!) You might need to watch the song 2 or 3, or even 4 times to appreciate its beauty.

I am of the view that sometimes we are so much in a hurry that we miss out on many of the true spiritual blessings that God has given us to enjoy here on earth.

3 thoughts on “A Man For The Lord

Leave a Reply

