The Sin of Complaining

[Warning: Long post. But I encourage you to read on].

14 Do all things without murmurings and disputings:

15 That ye may be blameless and harmless, the sons of God, without rebuke, in the midst of a crooked and perverse nation, among whom ye shine as lights in the world. Philippians 2:14-15 

Recently the Lord has been speaking to me clearly and unequivocally about the sin of complaining. Now, I know I have written on Philippians 2:14-15 in an earlier post. But the Lord keeps hammering away at our evil attitudes, so I am not surprised. 

The Lord has been showing me how much He hates complaining. And that includes, and especially so, where a clear wrong has been done to me. (If during our “peace time” moments we are going off like an iron factory, how much more when we have been wronged!) 

The Lord showed me about our Lord Jesus Christ. He led me to 1 Pet. 2:21-24, and particularly to the place where it says, “Neither was guile found in his mouth”

I read that again, “Neither was guile found in his mouth”. 

How could Jesus have walked this earth and have no guile found in His mouth? Not one unseemly word. Not one word of complaint, even when intolerable injustices were done to Him! That is an utter impossibility!

But right there it says Jesus did. Actually, Jesus did more than that, if that were possible. He pleased God perfectly

When I read this I cried tears. And I knelt down and repented. I repented like never before. And I asked God, “Where is this grace?” For it was clear to me that I could never pull this off by my own strength; and I knew that neither had Jesus. 

In the Old Testament book of Zechariah, the Prophet Zechariah had a vision: “6 Then he answered and spake unto me, saying, This is the word of the LORD unto Zerubbabel, saying, Not by might, nor by power, but by my spirit, saith the LORD of hosts. 7 Who art thou, O great mountain? before Zerubbabel thou shalt become a plain: and he shall bring forth the headstone thereof with shoutings, crying, Grace, grace unto it.” (Zec. 4:6-7) 

In Zechariah’s vision, there would be no impossibility –referring to the Godly lifestyle – because everything would be accomplished by God’s grace. 

So we know that it was not by His strength that Jesus accomplished this, it was by the grace of God. Jesus walked in the perfect grace of God. And nothing was impossible with Him. 

But notice, it was God’s grace. It was not Jesus’ grace, for when He was here on earth Jesus was perfect man. (The Bible says in Philippians 2 that Jesus put off His Godly form when He descended to earth). The grace therefore that He had had to come from another source: it came from God Himself. 

So what was it about Jesus that made Him so “acceptable” to God that God could give Him all this grace? God gave Jesus so much grace that “no guile was found in His mouth”! 

Probably we need to look into our hearts. This is because the Apostle James says that God gives grace to the humble. 

Did you ever notice that when God said of Jesus, This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased” (Mat. 3:17) Jesus was thirty years old? So what had been going on? God had been observing Jesus all these years. He had been testing His heart. He had seen Jesus’ obedience. He had seen His humble heart. 

Indeed, the Bible gives us a glimpse of Jesus’ attitude of heart in Luke 2:51-52: “51 And he went down with them, and came to Nazareth, and was subject unto them… 52 And Jesus increased in wisdom and stature, and in favour with God and man.” 

No humbler man ever walked this earth! 

Probably we need to confess to the pride in our hearts. Pride is one of the biggest barriers to God giving us His grace. Not that God does not want to give His grace even when we are proud, but our pride acts as a barrier preventing God’s grace from penetrating into our hearts. 

I am sure that if we have humble hearts, God will give us grace. He will give us the grace to not complain, grumble or dispute. 

(Disputings refers to an attitude of heart whereby we cannot accept things “lying down”. Disputings is another big problematic area with we grumblers). 

I thank God for His clear word. And I thank Him even more for giving me the grace to repent and seek to guard my heart against this very loathful sin. 

I wonder – just wondering, mind you; not that I have arrived there – I am just wondering what kind of person I were to be if no guile was to be found in my mouth. And to think that God’s grace is there for me to arrive at that exact place! 

I THANK YOU, JESUS!! 

[Below: Happy is the man in whose mouth no guile is found]

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

5 thoughts on “The Sin of Complaining

  1. Yes, I often think of the Hebrews escaping slavery. They complained about everything, and it cost many of them their lives, and all but 2 the right to enter the Promised Land! This is serious stuff you raise. Personally, I struggle with the injustice that has been inflicted on me. I want it fixed. That is not a bad thing, because part of my motivation is concern for those who committed it. But my ruined reputation, being the target of slander, lies and gossip, and that those who did it are held up as heroes, well, that is hard not to complain about. I stand at the cross and experience the grace and forgiveness flowing from Jesus to the tormenters, and that helps. I still struggle, however. It is too important to give up.
    Peace

    • Oh. I never felt a burden as when I read these words of yours. I know there are people hurting probably more than you. But for you to come out the way you have done… “I still struggle, however. It is too important to give up.”
      When I read that I knelt down and prayed for you, and I will, David, till that Cross for which you have shown so much love sets you completely free.
      Peace.

      • I see you read the article I wrote after reading your article and posting the comment. You have let God use you to do a wonderful thing for me. I praise God for you!
        Peace

  2. Hi mwitasblog it is True fleshy complaining about worldly happenings is not uplifting for us or those who hear, nor is arguing about fleshy man’s understanding which is based on error, when we speak or reprove those who are in error, we need to do do so with God’s Truth and than our word’s are powerful like when Jesus rebuked the Pharisees and got the whip out when they were polluting His Fathers House or when Paul when he rebuked the childish Christians.

    Job 6:24-26 Teach me, and I will hold my tongue: and cause me to understand wherein I have erred. How forcible are right words! but what doth your arguing reprove?

    Yes we all have God given emotions and when we have been hurt or mistreated we will express them but we need to seek resolution not hold onto our anger.

    As you shared mwitasblog, Jesus did not use words that were guile which means deception, He never sought to deceive anyone, Jesus was sinless and His Godly Nature is Love and Love cannot sin and this is why we are to aim to be perfected in Love, putting our flesh to death.

    Romans 8:12 – 15 Therefore, brethren, we are debtors, not to the flesh, to live after the flesh. For if ye live after the flesh, ye shall die: but if ye through the Spirit do mortify the deeds of the body, ye shall live. For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, they are the sons of God. For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, Abba, Father.

    Colossians 3:1-17 Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry. Because of these, the wrath of God is coming. You used to walk in these ways, in the life you once lived. But now you must rid yourselves of all such things as these: anger, rage, malice, slander, and filthy language from your lips. Do not lie to each other, since you have taken off your old self with its practices and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator. Here there is no Greek or Jew, circumcised or uncircumcised, barbarian, Scythian, slave or free, but Christ is all, and is in all. Therefore, as God’s chosen people, Holy and dearly Loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on Love, which binds them all together in perfect unity. Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace.

    Christian Love in our Unity in Christ Jesus – Anne

Leave a Reply

