A Father’s Joy

Listen to the mustn’ts, child. Listen to the don’ts. Listen to the shouldn’ts, the impossibles, the won’ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me… Anything can happen, child. Anything can be. – Sheldon Silverstein

I have a teenage son whom I am tempted to think does not please me as much as I would want him to. No, he is not rebellious in any sense of the word and he is actually pleasant to be around with. But, for me, there are the practical issues of daily life that I would love to see him get involved in more consistently and – for heaven’s sake – add some speed on!

So it was with some surprise, the other day as I was watering my sunflower garden that, out of the corner of my eye, I espied the window curtains to my son’s room moving. I looked up to see someone inside folding the said curtains and, soon after, opening the window. Upon looking closely, I realized it was my son who was doing that job.

Now, with some of these feelings, you never know where they come from. As I watched my son opening that window, I felt an incredible sense of relief and pride. This feeling was something not too far removed from what one would feel if their son won a scholarship to Harvard.

You must be thinking I am nuts. You must be wondering what could be so great about someone opening the window to their own room. But a little background is in order here, and I would want you to know that that curtain has been one of the sticking points between me and my son for a long time. Every time I entered his room during the daytime it was dark and it had a musty smell on account of the curtain and window not being opened. I had settled to lecturing him constantly about the value of having light and fresh air in his room. After which I would fold the curtains and open the window myself.

There was also a cobweb that I had been telling him to remove from the window panes for a week, and every time I entered the room it was still there. But, just yesterday I entered my son’s room and the cobweb was gone.

So there I was watering the sunflowers and my mind began moving at lightning speed. I thought: if I can feel so happy and relieved at my son doing something that pleases me, how are things up there with God when I do the littlest of His pleasure? I had never thought about it in exactly those terms, but on this day I found it fit the script quite well. The Bible says,

“If ye then, being evil…” (Mat. 7:11)

God is extremely happy and pleased, real time, whenever we do a little bit of His will. The prospects of such a thought are astronomical.

Because, whether we like the thought or not, we as God’s children are not much different than our teenage children. Problematic, to say the least and, at worst, outrightly rebellious. And it is on account of the fact that we are living under the new covenant of grace that we can get away with the things we do. But it is a far cry for most of us to say that much of the time we do that which is pleasing to God.

Quoting the Apostle Paul, which we love doing, is all right; but we better admit that, even though we strive to follow him, the man was simply out of our territory, at least most of us.

Anyways, to cut  long story short, ever since that day I have been walking on cloud nine, so to speak. I have felt propelled to consciously do that which is pleasing to God, well aware that this is real. The reality of God being pleased at me is astonishing to me. Moreover, my heart is filled with thanksgiving to God for the grace to realize that I can actually please Him through the abundant grace that He gives to me. That I can make God’s heart glad – what a grace! And… what an accomplishment!

2 thoughts on “A Father’s Joy

  1. This is much a special story and so true when you look at it this way. Some times we forget ( I forget ) that Jesus loves me like his child and how the small things in my Christian life matter. Thank you for reminding me!

Leave a Reply

