Freedom In Christ – Part 2

“If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed.” Jn. 8:36

Some time ago, I was sending money to someone through an electronic outlet. It was a substantial amount of money I was sending and if anything happened to it I knew I was a dead man.

After she had completed the transaction the teller went and sat in the far back of her booth and it was from there that she mumbled the name of the person she had sent the money to. (It is standard procedure here for the teller to tell you whom the money has gone to).

I did not hear the name properly and I asked her again who the money had gone to. The girl answered me and, once again, I failed to catch the name. I was about to ask her a third time when I noticed her body language suggesting that I was becoming a nuisance to her. I opted to not bother her further and I left the booth without really knowing who the money had gone to. But I was not at peace. If that money did not go the intended recipient…

One time my wife lost more than 1 million shillings of her company’s money in the same manner and we took a year to repay it. As the saying goes, once bitten, twice shy.

Anyways, as I was walking back home, the thought kept bugging me, What if it turned out that the money you sent did not go to the person you intended it to go to? Would you go back to that tough little girl and ask her for your money back?

But I hadn’t gone very far when I felt this big calm come into my heart. A very calm and satisfying thought came into my heart saying, No, I would not fight with her. I would simply look for more money to send.

I felt so free at the thought. And I immediately realized that this was a part of the inheritance that we have in Christ: freedom from these kinds of things.

In the world, money is everything. The world revolves around money. If the Bible took the time and space to write that “the love of money is the root cause of all evil” (1 Tim. 6:10), it is important for us to realize that money is the greatest god of this world. All over the world, daily, people are  scheming, fighting and murdering each other on account of money. All the wars in the world are about money. In the world, they say, “money is power”. The love of money is so powerful.

But the gospel of Jesus Christ sets us free from everything worldly, including the love of money. The gospel can set up completely free. Actually, that freedom takes us further than we can imagine.

One of the things that I rejoice with the gospel is that there are no contracts. Contracts are born of the law and there is no law with the gospel of Jesus Christ. Had there been law with Jesus, Judas Iscariot would never have been His accountant. Jesus would have made him to sign a contract at the first sign of trouble and the very next day or week or month Judas would have been out of a job. But the guy kept his job up till the very end of Jesus’s ministry even though Jesus knew he was stealing big from the treasury.

There is no paperwork with the gospel. No one needs to sign anything. If someone steals from you, you don’t take them to jail. You don’t even take them to the police station. God is far more wealthier than the little money you might have lost. His grace will uphold and strengthen you and if He deems the money or property you had stolen from you is worth refunding, He will refund it. And sometimes God will not refund that money because He does not need it for His Kingdom.

Oh, the ways and workings of God! And, equally exciting, what incredible power the grace of God has in our lives! May we daily partake of this grace and walk free in a world that is bound by these oh, so petty things.

[If you just lost some money, here’s something to brighten your day. A little girl preparing to go to school]

Mollel

2 thoughts on “Freedom In Christ – Part 2

  1. I affirm what you say. My religious overseers made decisions that made us lose an enormous amount of money and took away my career. We worked with a lawyer and put together a human rights case. Before it went forward we realized the money was not worth the fight and God had promised to be with us. So I have a different career, peace of mind, a sense of humour and a new kind of ministry – and years of learning to love our enemies and pray for them. None of it was easy, but Jesus does not promise a vacation, but victory in the battle against evil. We chose to serve God. We’re not heroes, just bruised – and blessed.
    Peace

Leave a Reply

